Refuse Disposal & Burning Bylaw – Controlled Burn Notice Application Form

Font size A A A

On March 11, 2020, the Rural Municipality of Sherwood Council adopted the “Refuse Disposal and Burning Bylaw” (Bylaw No. 4/20).  The new Burning bylaw complies with provincial open burning guidelines and Provincial legislation, such as The Wildfire Act and The Saskatchewan Environmental Management and Protection Act.  Procedures for controlled burn permit applications are similar, requiring ratepayers/businesses to notify the RM 24 hours prior to igniting a controlled burn, and each controlled burn will receive a Burn Notification Number. To obtain a copy of the Controlled Burn Notice Application Form, please click here.

Additionally, certain materials are now prohibited from being burned within the RM unless as part of an approved industrial activity, including:

  • Painted/treated wood products including particle board, plywood, and composite wood products held together by adhesives
  • Cardboard and other recyclable Paper products
  • Aerosols and other combustible containers
  • Plastics
  • Styrofoam
  • Refuse

The new bylaw can be found here.  If you have any questions, please contact the Planning & Development department at (306) 525-5237.